Councilman Chris Seibert was elected Monday night as president of the Athens City Council for Nov. 8 through Oct. 31, 2022, term.

Councilman Harold Wales was elected president pro tem for the same term during council's meeting Monday.

The current president, Wayne Harper, said, “Mr. Seibert and Mr. Wales both have done it before and they’re going to do an excellent job.”

Get Unlimited Access
$3 for 3 Months
Subscribe Now

After the initial selected subscription period your subscription rate will auto renew at $8.00 per month.

— or 256-340-2460.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.